You’re not an abusive boyfriend that I’m desperately in love with.

You don’t get to have me at your mercy.
You don’t get to dump me, and then still be welcomed back with a routine.

I don’t need you.
Not having you doesn’t make me anxious, or feel empty.

You don’t cause me the same kind of pain anymore.
The anguish, if that, lasts only a moment.

Your abuse doesn’t make me want to hurt myself.
Your actions don’t decide my sense of worth.

Your words are poison-tipped arrows, but I’m standing behind a glass wall.
I have my own sense of worth now.

I’m over you.

Leave a Reply

