“Bucket List”?

Because I refuse to socialize in order solely to belong and conform in order to successfully socialize, I tend not to go out much.

I’m still undecided as to whether this is more good or more bad, but in the meantime, I decided that I’m going to come up with things I want to do in the spirit of such a solitary nature, and make record of the executions right here.

It’s not necessarily a “bucket list”, since it’s not a list of things I must do before I die, and it’s not necessarily a “to-do list” because it’s not a list of obligatory tasks. Still, it’s a list of things I want to do before I forget, and as “bucket list” is a catchy enough term and common enough idea, I too shall call this my “bucket list” of sorts.

Here begins the journey.
[Insert epic original action-adventure-fantasy soundtrack. Name it either “A New Beginning” or “Beginning of  a Journey”.]

3 thoughts on ““Bucket List”?

    • Hahaha, I’ve never come up with one, and I don’t think I’ve ever given it much thought.
      I prefer the idea that one should live everyday like its the last, or that one should constantly work to improve herself, so that however unpredictable death may prove, one may go knowing, if possible, that she was the best (however defined) she had ever been or could have ever been. Not that I currently have anything to show for such a belief, but I don’t want to make a list of things that my present self thinks are my priorities to impose on my future self. Future self may have different ideas, different life plan, different priorities, and I don’t want a past self to hold future self back. I’m really stubborn and easily guilt-ridden, so making a grandiose list of “things I must do before I die” may be unhealthy.
      So I guess to answer your question, yes, posting a bucket list is “too mainstream” for me. 😛 Otherwise, I could just be one of those people allergic to commitment unwittingly having orchestrated an elaborate excuse.
      But who knows? Time has proved that I’m prone to change.

      And you, do you have a bucket list?

      • My bucket list is to just finishing writing the stories that haunt me. They’re like my inner ghosts. Once I do that I’ll be at peace. I can go through life, I think, doing not much else and I’ll still be happy.

Leave a Reply

